Bossa Nova Daydreams


New English version of "Só danço Samba"
December 1, 2009, 11:23 am
Filed under: lyrics | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I haven’t spent much time lately with the stated project of posting about the Divas, but I have spent a fair amount of time creating English versions of several bossa nova classics. Here’s the latest. I suspect there may already be an English version of “Só danço samba”, but I haven’t been able to locate it, so I did my own. I left the Portuguese “Vai vai vai” in there, because I don’t think “go go go” sounds good with the rest—too guttaral. I figure the “vai vai vai” helps keep the Brazilian flavor in any case. If you like it, use it.

I Only Dance the Samba

I dance the samba, but only samba.
Vai vai vai vai vai
I dance the samba, but only samba.
Vai.

I’ve already twisted all I can,
so please don’t wear me thin
with calypso and cha cha cha.
[alternative 2nd verse:
I’ve danced the twist so much I’m out of breath.
So please don’t bore me stiff
with calypso and cha cha cha.]

English version by Matthew Marth,
based on the original Portuguese version,
entitled “Só danço samba” by Antonio Carlos Jobim and
Vinicius de Moraes

Share

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love it! Yours works out so much better than the one I made up. Thanks.

Comment by Leonard

That’s very good! It sings well.

Comment by Roger Stratton

Thanks, Roger. I’m glad it works for you.

Comment by Matthew

Hi

re: Só Danço Samba … I vaguely remember doubling over in laughter upon reading the English lyrics. They went something like:

The Jazzin’ Samba
The Jazzin’ Samba
Swingin’ high and low
The Jazzin’ Samba
The Jazzin’ Samba
Go!

Ouch! It hurts just to type that! I sure wish I could remember whose album that was …

Comment by patricia A murray




Leave a Reply

